To The Ends Of The Earth (2005) TV


For his portrayal of Edmund Talbot Benedict was awarded with the Golden Nymph for Best Performance by an Actor.

To the Ends of the Earth is originally a novella trilogy by William Golding written during 1980-1989 (Part 1: Rites of Passage/ 1980, Part 2: Close Quarters/ 1987, Part 3: Fire Down Below/ 1989).

In 2005, the BBC adapted the books as a mini-series and aired it from 6 July onwards.
The series received 11 nominations (including the BAFTA TV Award for Best Drama Serial), Benedict Cumberbatch won the Golden Nymph Award for Best Performance by an Actor (Mini-Series) for his role as Edmund Talbot in 2006.

What is it about:
At the beginning of the 18th century, the young Edmund Talbot travels by ship from England to Australia on proceeding to take a new post. It is a 6 month journey across the great sea, and the people on board will experience friendship and love, death and heroism, the rigors of the sea and their own society exposed to the confined space of the ship. Edmund Talbot keeps a diary, notes his impressions of passengers and crew, and faces his own development while experiencing the events in this microcosm.

David Attwood

William Golding
Tony Basgallop
Leigh Jackson

Benedict Cumberbatch (Edmund Talbot), Victoria Hamilton (Miss Graham), Jared Harris (Cpt. Anderson), Sam Neill (Mr. Prettiman) and others

more info:
complete list of cast and Crew can be seen here
More pics and information: BBC
Available on Amazon here


Image Credit: Karin Woywod